John Warren - Screenwriting Faculty


John Warren began his writing studies at Ohio University and continued at the New School in New York. In 1986 Warren accepted a fellowship at the American Film Institute in Los Angeles. That same year Warren sold his first script, The Body Politic, to Orion Films.

Warren has had a variety of films in development over the years, including The Family Tree at Universal, Drive, Super Model and Coach Brown at Disney, Passionate Kiss at Dreamworks, Sneaky People at DeLaurentis Productions, Tark the Shark and Man Bites Dog at Showtime and Speed, a TV pilot for Fox.

Among produced credits, Warren lists Naked in New York, which he wrote and was produced by Martin Scorsese. Warren wrote and produced Flashfire, for Tri-Mark Films and Girl in the Cadillac, for Columbia. As a writer/director, Warren made The Curse of Inferno, for MPCA and Major League: Back to the Minors, released by Warner Bros. On the TV side, Warren’s writing credits include Johnny Bago (CBS), The Adventures of Brisco County Jr. (Fox Network) and Fortune Hunter (Columbia Tri-Star TV).

Warren taught at the Gateway School (2009-2010) in New York, where he created Screenwriting to Promote Literacy.  He has been a guest teacher at Interlochen Center of the Arts, UCLA Senior Screenwriting Program, College Media Convention, La Rochelle Film Festival (in association with the French Film Commission).  Working with the New York City Board of Education, Warren implemented and taught his Screenwriting to Promote Literacy program.

Warren began teaching at New York University Tisch in 2011.  During his time there he has taught a wide range of classes: Storytelling Strategies, Fundamentals of Dramatic and Visual Writing, Writing the Short Script and Preparing the Screenplay. Warren also serves as Head of Los Angeles Internship Program, placing student interns at Los Angeles based agencies, management companies, and studios.

Warren has served as Chair of the Oliver Stone Grant, Co-Chair of First Run Festival Judging Committee, Co-Chair of Film Festival Committee, a member of the Writing Committee, Curriculum Committee and the Sloan Foundation.   He is also a member of Writers Guild of American, Directors Guild of America and Screen Actors Guild.

Writers Guild of America
Directors Guild of America
Screen Actors Guild

←Back to Screenwriting